Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im pretty new to cafe racers and am noticing the trend of having a seat that accommodates only one person. Im looking for a CB 500-750 and want my wife to be able to ride with me. Is that something that many people do or does the geometry of the bike discourage 2up riding? Also if I did ride 2up would rearsets be ok or would they get in the way of the pegs for her. I have seen a few seats that look like they are long enough for two but I just wanted to get some opinions from people who know more about this than I do.
Thank you and I appreciate all of the great info here.

·
Registered
6,587 Posts
You don't want a cafe bike if you want to ride 2-up.

Sure you can put a 2up seat on a cafe bike, but neither you or the passenger is going to like it.

·
Registered
23,303 Posts
more likely what you want is a GT bike, but you can call it a cafe racer if you want, as long as you improved the bike's performance in some way it can be both. A cafe racer is not defined by a single part, but rather the ethos of the bike - how it is used, if it is better than stock, etc.

generally a race replica cafe racer with clipons and rearsets is a solo bike. You don't see any race bikes carrying passengers and nobody wants the 150lb sack of potatoes on their back when they are trying to cut the next apex or are about to go knee down. there are bikes out there that have second seats under the tail section (ducati sport 1000 biposto, triumph thruxton, etc) but the ergonomics of those bikes were designed by professional engineers, they are compromised as far as cafe racers go, and really they aren't good for long rides anyway (esp fot he passenger). it just isn't good to have all the weight of a second person distorting your riding position, pressing on your wrists, and making you rider passive on a bike that needs you to be rider active.