Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

I'm still new to the scene so please humor me on this topic as I'm sure it's pretty basic. I'm risking a verbal berating to find out how to siphon the gas out of my tank, but doing it in a safe, efficient and less possibly ingestive way, rather than using a tube and sucking the gas through?
I found that this company, http://www.superrvproducts.com, makes a cheap solution and they also sell their products on eBay.

Anyway, I just thought I'd ask to see what you veterans were doing now that the winter is on its way and winterizing is on more peoples minds.

-----------------
1977 Honda CB 550 K

·
Premium Member
11,267 Posts
I have one of those little siphon tubes with a little plastic sqeeze pump on it. It gets the flow going and then it siphons on it's own...or you can use the squeeze pump to pull the fuel out. It cost about $5 and I've been using it for years. I think Walmart has them.
JohnnyB

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hey Johnny,

Yup, Napa has one really similar for the same price. I suppose I should have checked there before posting.

Thanks for the tip!

·
Registered
23,303 Posts
what bike?

I usually just turn the petcock off, connect a hose to the petcock running into a gas can and then turn it on. walk away and check on it in an hour or so. Oh and do this outside or your garage will smell like shit.

if the petcock is fubared I will turn the tank on it's side, remove the petcock and then set the tank up on a stool with a funnel underneath running into a gas can.

This doesn't usually work for bikes with a vacuum petcock (kawasakis, suzukis) but for cb750s it works fine

for vacuum petcock bikes that little pump should work fine.

·
Premium Member
11,267 Posts