Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm sort of new here, been lurking for almost a year now. I'm currently in the process of building up a 1976 CJ360T which came to me as a frame with engine and not much else.

I am currently trying to get the trashed wheels replaced with cb650 wheels that I got a good deal on. The only problem I ran into is that the rear wheel's axle bolt is a little too wide to fit through the cj360t's swing arm. I am new to building bikes so forgive any naiveness or ignorance that the following questions may contain:

1. Could I just gently use an angle grinder to make my current swing arm's "holes" wide enough so the axle bolt fits?

2. Would a cb650 (or any other larger bike) swing arm mount to my cj360t's frame with little to no modification? I tried to find dimensions or examples of people doing this but failed.

3. Does anyone know the dimensions for a cb650/750/etc swing arm? (in case no one knows if it will fit)

Thanks!

·
Registered
4,721 Posts
1) I seldom set a frame or swing arm up in my mill to modify it to accept a larger axle unless it has to be setup for something else much more critical anyhow. I do just exactly what you describe. Do your layout work carefully and pay attention. Last one I did I used a thin whiz wheel on my air angle grinder. Both slots were held to within 10 thou and I didn't check before but I doubt it was any closer to begin with.....

2) You are asking yet you have both the patient and organ donor bike on hand?

3) Do you not have the donor bike yet?

Unless you see something superior about the 650 swingarm (and my guess is it will likely add inches you don't need to the wheel base) just open the slot up

·
Registered
4,721 Posts