Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What's your most important tips for a complete beginner who are looking to build a cafe racer? Are there any beginner mistakes youi might have done yourself, and how do you avoid them to successfully complete the project?

·
Registered
6,334 Posts
Buy an OEM service manual for every motorcycle you own.
Should be your first purchase. Memorize the book.

Oh and Don't buy anything until you actually need it, unless it is original replacement parts that you don't mind keeping on hand.

... and ride lots, it's a waste of time and money otherwise.

·
Registered
1,854 Posts
Don't build a bike until you've ridden a bike for a few months at least!!! and know #1 it's for you and #2 how important for any mods to be well thought out and planned.

Based on that you will build a bike that is meant to be ridden or a bike that will be used for a summer then put away/put on craigslist and never used again.

·
Registered
227 Posts
Here first off here is another vote for getting a factory service manual as your first purchase.