Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys, im new to all this but was wondering if the triumph t120 is a good motor to put in the norton wideline frame to make a triton. im looking for the type of motor that the old rockers put in the tritons for the best performance and reliability back in the hay day

cheers

·
Registered
23,303 Posts
quote:
hey guys, im new to all this but was wondering if the triumph t120 is a good motor to put in the norton wideline frame to make a triton. im looking for the type of motor that the old rockers put in the tritons for the best performance and reliability back in the hay day

cheers
Best Performance and Relaibility = Vincent motor.

There were guys who used T120 motors back in the day (depending on what back in the day means to you). The idea behind the norvin, or triton or any other kind of brit special was to build the best handeling fastest machine with what you had. Back in the day they stuffed everything in norton frames from vincent, honda, triumph, ariel, harley....basically what ever they could get their hands on that was faster than the 500cc or atlas 650 motor it replaced.

If you really want to be period correct, pick a year and try to get parts from before that year. Rememeber rocker culture didn't just embrace cafe racers they also embraced choppers when that fad became more prevalent.

·
Registered
23,303 Posts
Some credit Dave Deegans and Dresda with creating the triton. Either way they can supply you with everything you need to build one including a replica norton frame with the triumph mounts already welded in.

http://www.dresda.co.uk/index.asp

My advice to you is to find a complete triumph that runs and just build from there since you will need all the other parts (wheels, brakes, forks, wiring harness etc) anyway to make a complete bike. This way you can tell if the motor runs too.