Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, brand new to the forum. To be honest I'm only making this account right now to see if anyone can identify a bike for me. I everything works out with it then I will most likely become an active member. Regardless, please, anyone, help!
My uncle recently sent me two pictures of a bike that he picked up for me but it has no title. So I don't know what year, model, or size. At least until I get it here (Minnesota to Florida) and can (presumably) identify it by looking up the VIN. (I'm not an expert, can you tell yet?)
I'd like to know the year, model, and size ASAP so that I can order an original manual and start burying myself in it.
Anyway, this is the only picture (technically pictures...) that I have. I THINK its a CB? Looks like it to me but again... NOT an expert. I think the term novice or absolute beginner and has never done any automotive projects of any sort in his life would best describe it...
If anyone can tell me anything, I would greatly appreciate it!!!
hondacb2.JPG
hondacb1.JPG
hondacb.jpg

·
Registered
2,331 Posts
do you have a motorcycle license?

That bike isn't worth it even if it's free. Do yourself a favor and buy a newer (used) bike that runs and learn basic maintenance and riding skills on that.

That bike is barely worth the parts its made of

·
Registered
23,303 Posts
It is a honda cb550 from about 1974-1976. If you had the vin you could probably look up the year.

The bike is a wreck though, it will probably cost more than it is ever worth to even get running. you can buy running ones in your area for $2000, they are not rare.

·
Registered
1,684 Posts
If it's been stored outside in Minnesota it's not worth the effort of getting it down to Florida. No title, needs everything, and is 1200 miles away. What could possibly go wrong with that? Free bikes are one of the most expensive ways to get into motorcycles...

·
Registered
4 Posts