Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok im new to this bike thing (well experienced in cars) remember that as I ask this question.
I have quite a bit of valve noise. I was told by the previous owner that I need to adjust the valves.
Is this a relatively easy undertaking? And what should i expect in the undertaking of this?
I can build a car from the ground up so im not scared, I just want some insight from you bike guru's

And the bike is an 81 Yamaha xs400

thanks
K-

http://www.myspace.com/5pecial_k

·
Premium Member
11,267 Posts
Can't speak about that bike inparticular...but most Japanese bikes you just pull off the valve cover (tappet cover). Get out your feeler gauge and a couple of 8 or 9mm wrenchs and go to town.
Put the piston at TDC on the compression stroke...(or wherever the manual tells you to) check the clearance before you start....loosen the locknut on the tappet...adjust the tappet (tiny square ended screw typically), re-tighten the locknut.
I'd strongly advise getting a service manual if you don't have one...every bike has little particulars when it comes to stuff like this. Most tappets start getting noisy around .006". Typical Honda clearance on intake and exhaust is .002" ....so yes..pretty tight.

No different than an old "solid lifter" hot rod. Remember..too loose is way better than too tight.
JohnnyB

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
mucho thanks!
I have a haynes manual on the way. Hopfuly that will have some particulars in it.

Do you know what the big bolt cover lookin thingy's (technical term) on the front of the valve cover? they appear to be some sort of access to the valvetrain.

http://www.myspace.com/5pecial_k

·
Premium Member
11,267 Posts
Typically that big bolt thingie...usually around 19mm...is the tappet cover...The XS400 should have four of them I think.
The tappet adjusters should be under there. Unless you have the rare DOHC XS400.