Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, my name is Mark...I am from Lexington, NC...I am excited to be part of Caferacer.net...I want you guys, and girls, to know that I am very new to this...I have owned two bikes in my life...the first was an '03 BMW 1200 Phoenix...I loved her very much...I had to give her up for reasons that I don't want to discuss right now...Luckily, I was able to find another one, albeit, an older one, who excites me in other ways...A 1978 BMW R100/7...I purchased her from a French gentleman in DC for around $1500...I really feel that I got a real bargain...She runs like a top...He was in the process of transforming her into a cafe style racer...At the moment, I cannot send you any pictures...I am on night shift, but I will get some pics to you shortly...They will, more than likely, help in some of the questions that I have...First question: She has turn signals that are mounted on the end of the bars. I have to have at least one mirror on her, here in the state of NC, to be road-worthy...do you guys have any suggestions? There are two holes on both the left and right switches that look like they may accept mirrors...I'm not sure...I would like some that look good on her...Second question: All I have for a seat is about 1" to 2" of foam...I like riding hard, but this could be a problem...what do you suggest, for completing the seat? Pictures to come in the next few days that will, hopefully, show you what I mean...Lastly, and this bothers me, beside the oil fill dipstick, there is an open hole that has no plug in it, whatsoever...I can see a "belt" turning inside the hole when she is running...Is this hole supposed to be "plugged"??? Is this where I add fluid of some sort??? Again, I am not motorcycle mechanically inclined...Any help would be much appreciated...I am trying to get her road-worthy, but to also make sure that I am doing the things that I need to do to keep her happy a