Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
living in maryland with a citgo nearby that sells e85 (15% gasoline), what's required to get say, a cb360 or cb750 running on that strictly? rejetting? replacing fuel lines and carb gaskets? lining the tank?

is this legal, or something i'd want to do? it's for the environmental impact as i'm under the assumption e85 is cleaner but does emit more nitrogen.

thoughts?

·
Registered
98 Posts
I'm just a newbie, but i HEAR that stuff gives you shitty fuel economy (worse than gas), and costs more than gas. Why not just run regular gas? Seeing as gas is much more readily available than ethanol and it would seem to eliminate potential headaches. Just my 2 cents.

-Vincent

-Edited by Tex (because I can)

·
Super Moderator
11,267 Posts
Sule,
If you are concerned about the environment...use gasoline. Do some research and you'll find out that Ethanol is a loss-loss product. It takes more energy to make a gallon of ethanol than the ethanol can produce when it's used. It's one of the stupidier solutions ever come up with (in this country), because the crops to produce it are planted with diesel, irrigated with sparce water using diesel powered pumps, harvested with diesel powered machines, "refined" using some form of energy and transported via diesel powered vehicles. By the time you get it...it's used more than it's own energy just getting to you. The main reason being the US has no ethanol delivery pipeline system.
It works in some countries (using sugercane) because those countries don't have to irragate, because sugercane produces far more ethanol per ton of crop, it's easier to process and because they have a distribution infrastructure...and they don't have any oil.

Until they make ethanol in this country using bio-waste (the parts of crops we don't eat) and build pipelines to transport it... just eat the corn, don't put it in your vehicle.
JohnnyB

·
Registered
5,780 Posts
Sule,