Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi! I'm new to the motorcycling world and I've just started my first cafe racer project. I've bought a Suzuki gs 400 from '79, but I dislike the tank on it. I recently saw a Suzuki GN 400 from '80, made by Old Empire motorcycles, in collaboration with ODFU called the "osprey". I don't know where that tank is from, but I would like to use it on my cafe racer project as well.
If anyone can identify the tank, I would like to know :)

Pictures of the bike can be found here: ?80 Suzuki GN400 ? Old Empire Motorcycles | Pipeburn.com

Or right here:
02_03_2015_osprey_OEM_02.jpg
02_03_2015_osprey_OEM_03.jpg
02_03_2015_osprey_OEM_05.jpg

Thanks in advance! ;)

·
Registered
1,530 Posts
It's so similar to a stock 79 GS400 tank, why bother?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I don't think they're that similar.. I really don't like the extra cover on my tank and it also has a dent that drives me nuts..

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #7 (Edited)
That looks pretty similar to the tank on my GS400.. I know they all look similar, but for some reason I really like the visible "folds" on the GN400 tank :/

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Really? 'cause it looks pretty sharp in the third pic I posted.. But I can't really find the tank anywhere , so I wouldn't know :/

·
Registered
23,287 Posts
Satin finishes tend to reflect light in flat panels and wash out certain details. It looks like a sharp crease, and while the original GN tank does have a character line like that, but it's much more subtle than it looks. This is actually unusual as matte finishes tend to wash out detail and don't usually pick it up like a gloss or a metallic. If you are handy with body filler you can add or sharpen a character line on anything.