Cafe Racer Forum banner

Which bike?

2K views 12 replies 9 participants last post by  Geeto67 
#1 ·
Ok, so ive been shopping around for a project cb750 and so far I have had no luck. Every bike that ive come across so far, the owners think their garbage is gold and are asking way to much in my opinion. Anyway, ive come across someone selling a cb450 and it has caught my interest. I am 6ft, 220 lbs. I have been riding dirtbikes and crotch rockets for the past 9 years. Do you guys think that this bike will have enough power to keep me happy or should I keep looking for the 750? Plan on using the bike to commute with on nice days and then enjoy the summer with.

#2 ·
A cb450 will be working pretty hard to do70mph on the freeway, a small fairing would help but 2 or 3 hundred cc's would help more. They're both 40 yr old bikes, unless you pony up for a realy good one, you'll have to work on either one to make a good commuter. Another option I've seen done is to take a newer bike and make a naked retro/ cafe out of it. You get electronic ign. better brakes and suspention and many of them ,you can still get dealer support. Just depends on what you realy want and how much work you want to do. Between the 450 and 750, the 750 has more parts and aftermarket stuff available and would be the sure choice if you plan to ride double much. Personaly,I would probably get a cheep one and go through it, just to be safe. Pay up to $600. ish and $2500. to refurbish it. You.ll pay that for a "turnkey" bike and you'll have to take thier word for it anyway.

#3 ·
what are you expectations? just sayng you ride crotch rockets and dirtbikes gives the impression you wont be happy unless you have either. what do you really want out of you vintage experience?

There is also a big difference in the riding experience between twins and inline fours. If you are really looking for a twin get an xs650. Does everything as good as the cb450 plus some.