Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, I've ridden some of my friends modern sport bikes and they are fun but just aren't my style. Finally after looking at different bike styles I decided I like cafes the best and have always been a Honda fan. So, my question is, what are some of the key differences and quirks of the early 70's CB bikes? I have some mechanical knowledge but building the bike will be a learning experience so my first though is to go for the more simple 350, but on the other hand I'd like to have plenty of power which makes me lean toward the 500 or the 750 Fours. I weigh 200 lbs, so would the 350 be good at highway speeds to and from work? Thanks for any input - Brian

·
Registered
687 Posts
i weigh 160, ride a 350 and it will easily push 75 but on rough or bumpy stretches the front end feels squirrely at that speed and i feel invisible to larger traffic running. oh and big trucks will blow you about the lane and your air cooled bike will cook in standing traffic, in texas at least. to top it off the stretch of I35 in austin has the highest death toll anywhere along it.

needless to say i don't do much highway riding

...connoisseur of slack...

·
Registered
1,187 Posts
different bikes,not only size but in shape ave a twin and a wide four.The 350 is great if your a biginer rider and want to use every bit of its limits.A 750 has plenty of umph to keep up with your modern day bike buddies,Day to day.
So its always up to you the cb models all are rugged bikes its why they are still around just get as low mileadge as you can or baby a high mileadge one with lots of clean fresh oil ,plugs and points,fresh tires and inspect your oil changes for debris.
Plan on new or up rated rear shock and springs as they just go over time.And have fun!
And welcome to this little part of the web.

Im so far behind ,that I think Im in first.

·
Registered
3,431 Posts