Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So the engine in my 75 CB360 has seen better days. Im pretty new to the motorcycle scene, but have read about the 350 twins reliability and successes over the 360. My question is, if i find a 350 twin, will it mount to my 360 frame? From pics ive seen the engine mounts look real similar.

I know some good welders if theres only a bit of modding needed. Anyone have some knowledge on this?

·
Registered
687 Posts
like i said on your other thread, yes it's possible. it requires cuts and welds to the frame. i've been talking to a guy who's done it but it's been a while since and unfortunately he doesn't have any photo's. i really like the 360 frames and would love to put a 350 in there.

...connoisseur of slack...

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
hmmm. The more i think of this the more i like this idea. Really what i need is pics and measurements of the 350 mounts, so i can compare it to mine. Any contributors?

My buddy's is a 350-Four, or i could use his.

I just put 2 and 2 together tonight and realized Todd Hennington is in Atlanta as well. Does he have a shop? I emailed him since i figure he should be a walking encyclopedia on Cb's, and asked for his suggestions.

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
snorklefork: is there anyway i can contact the guy that has done it that you speak of? anything i can get as far as help i will take.

I guess of course my main concern is everything working correctly AFTER the engine is mounted.

Edited by - Matt N on Jan 18 2008 10:53:53 PM

·
Registered
97 Posts
Well, Matt it all depends on how well you did your homework. When you mount the new engine, you need to make it line up with the bike you are putting it on. I've never done the swap, do I don't know th specifics. I'm sure it's possible if you can mount it in the right spot. It's time to bust out the tape measure and the welder to make things line up.

·
Registered