Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So what's everyone's plans for the winter? Anyone have anything interesting planned?

Matt (sprinter666) and I are tearing down our GS450's and making them as awesome as possible. The plan is to take them down to the frame and then replacing what's needed, getting everything cleaned up and painted and then putting them back together hopefully in time for when it gets warm again.

Major plans are finding a new motor for Matt's bike or rebuilding the one he has. It's blowing smoke and leaking oil and just not running the way it should. I think it's got something like 78k miles on it, so it's due for some refreshening.

Another big one is we both need new rear shocks and our forks rebuilt. I'm a suspension engineer so this is something that I'm looking forward to, but we're also trying to keep it on a budget. And our bikes has 33mm forks so our options are limited unless we decide to run different forks, which I'm currently considering. But I'm more used to stuff with 4 wheel, so I'm still trying to figure out the best way to valve these, what springs to run in them, etc. If anyone has any input on this I would really appreciate it. Whether it's parts that we should consider or advice on different forks.

The bikes are also going to get completely rewired with new lights and gauges. I just want to clean some things up, and replace all those annoying bullet connectors. And then figure out a nice way to do the turn signals and tail lights, I would like to use LEDs but it depends on time and the budget.