Cafe Racer Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

my name is Thomas. I´m from germany. So excuse me for my bad english[:p]

A few months ago i found a old Yamaha XS 400. Build 1979. It worries my i forgot to take pics from the condition of the bike when i get it.

But here´s a pic of the modell:

I found the bike in a scruffy old hall. I shot a pic when the owner didn´t look:

Early morning next day i begann to decompose the bike and i detected the electric-starter was running:

After strip down the bike i cleaned the frame.

Now i startet to paint frameparts and tank

Then i begann to cut the frame and electroframe holders for the rear section.

Cleaning the Carburetors three times:

And do the oil change:

That´s how the bike looks with the new rear section:

And here with built in motor:

I like the oldschool look with just a rev meter, but in germany you need a speed indicator too. Now im looking for a little digital one:

I work as a mechanic, and at night shift i build me this tool to adjust the two carburetors.

Yesterday i adjust the ignition and i decide the XS is running very good. Only little problems with idle running.

And the last two pics are from today. I connected the direction indicator and the licence plate light.

So next week i hope i can do the paintjob and bring the bike to the Technical Inspection Agency soon. And i hope the say that every thing is okay.

Hope my english is understandable for you guys.

I post pics next time when i get on.

Greetings,
Thomas

·
Registered
69 Posts
Pretty cool looking bike, I wanted to do an xs750 but someone beat me to it. One thing I would say though is get rid of that rear fender. Great work so far man.

·
Registered
2,595 Posts
Thomas, that's a great looking project. Nice workmanship. Your english is fine.
Welcome to the forum.

FR

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thank you for your nice responds.