Cafe Racer Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello folks,

I've been building a motorcycle for the last eight years and finally was able to get it started, which has opened a whole new level on problems to resolve.

I searched through various forums and articles but it seems I haven't found the reason for the problem, which consists of the following - the bike starts well but after a brief period of time, either parked or driving, say 5 to 10 minutes, the engine stalls and won't start again. The starter won't spin, i.e. engine doesn't crank, there is no click from the solenoid (but starter will spin if I short circuit it with a screwdriver), kickstarter won't work nor it would bumpstart. I found the only solution is to let it rest until it cools down.

I've tried and replaced battery, multiple starter solenoids, spark plugs, push button, ignition coils, but I'm very reluctant to give it a complete rewire as I suspect problem might lie with engine's increased temperature leading to more resistance to the wires. I've wrapped the exhaust with thermal tape but that didn't change a thing. Cooler days give it a few more minutes until the issue happens.

My hope is that someone might has had such a problem and they would share their thoughts on how to resolve it because honestly I'm very frustrated.

Cheers!

·
Registered
9,021 Posts
You can download a service manual for the XS750 from https://www.carlsalter.com/mcpdf/Yamaha_XS750-2D.pdf
that's the closest to your bike I could find.
Based on the problem you described the first things I would check is the condenser (x3) in the ignition and adjust the valve clearances. A compression test might reveal an issue if the valves are out of adjust badly enough.

·
Registered
9,021 Posts